New directors join Beyond Blue

BEYOND BLUE has welcomed two new directors to its board – Australia-India Institute CEO and former Tasmanian Senator The Hon Lisa Singh, and technology executive Dayle Stevens OAM.

Beyond Blue Chair The Hon Julia Gillard AC said the appointments signalled the organisation’s ongoing commitment to digital innovation and diversity.

“Beyond Blue’s board is calibrated to reflect both the community we serve and the governance skills, networks and expertise we believe will drive innovation, better outcomes for people, and mental health system reform,” Ms Gillard said.

“Lisa’s advocacy of social inclusion and deep ties to one of Australia’s largest multicultural communities and Dayle’s impressive record of driving digital impact at scale will advance Beyond Blue’s efforts to make it easier for all Australians to feel better earlier, to get well and to stay well.”

Dayle Stevens is a corporate leader with significant experience across data and analytics, cloud technology and artificial intelligence. Ms Stevens, named among Australia’s 50 top chief information officers, currently leads Telstra’s data and artificial intelligence function and serves as the Telstra Foundation’s Chief Ambassador.

“I’m delighted to join Beyond Blue’s board at a time of profound social and economic change and I look forward to supporting Beyond Blue’s focus on unlocking the power of digital to deliver mental health and wellbeing support and advice to people at the first sign they might need it,” Ms Stevens said.

Lisa Singh was the first woman of South Asian heritage to be elected to the Australian Parliament. The current CEO of the University of Melbourne’s Australia-India Institute, Lisa is a former federal Senator and minister in the Tasmanian Government. She sits on a range of advisory boards and has served in Commonwealth observer roles across the Pacific, including in Fiji and the Solomons. She is an advocate for the protection of human rights, international development, gender equality, climate change, governance and access to justice.

“As a trusted, established presence in Australia’s mental health landscape, Beyond Blue is uniquely positioned to support the breadth of the Australian community and I’m looking forward to making an active contribution to the organisation,” Ms Singh said.

Lisa and Dayle’s appointments follow the retirement of Paul Howes from the board, who stepped down following 11 years of dedicated service.

“For more than a decade, Paul’s impressive business and political acumen, and passionate commitment to improving the lives of people living with depression and anxiety, have been pivotal to Beyond Blue’s evolution and community impact, and we thank him for his incisive and insightful leadership,” Ms Gillard said.

Beyond Blue’s current Board comprises: The Hon Julia Gillard AC (Chair), Kate Carnell AO (Deputy Chair), Abbe Anderson, Dr Jessica Dean, Johanna Griggs AM, The Hon Rob Knowles AO, Dr Jason Lee, Denise McComish, Professor Helen Milroy AM, Sam Mostyn AO, The Hon Ken Wyatt AM, Derek Schoen, The Hon Lisa Singh, Dayle Stevens OAM.

/Public Release. View in full here.