New Mornington Peninsula Shire Councillors announced

Mornington Peninsula Shire Councillors - November 2020.jpg

The Victorian Electoral Commission announced the Mornington Peninsula Shire’s 2020 council election results this afternoon at the ‘Declaration of Election’ ceremony at the Peninsula Community Theatre. The event was live streamed via the council’s website.

Mornington Peninsula Shire CEO, John Baker congratulated the 11 successful candidates and thanked all 43 nominees for their election campaigns and their commitment to serving the community.

Mr Baker said the composition of the newly elected Council offered a broad mix of experience, new perspectives and interests.

“With three incumbents returning and eight first-time Councillors, we will have a healthy mix of experience and fresh perspectives to represent our community.

“This is an exciting and challenging time for the new councillors and the whole Shire team as we prepare to develop the strategy and vision for the next term of Council 2020 – 2024. One of our immediate goals is to help the Mornington Peninsula’s economy recover post Covid lockdown.

“We are all looking forward to working with the new council to achieve the best outcomes for the community”

The new Council will be officially sworn in at the Annual Council Meeting on Monday 16 November where the Mayor and Deputy Mayor will also be elected.

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council Election 2020

Successful candidates by Ward:

Briars Ward Steve Holland, Despi O’Connor, Anthony Marsh

Cerberus ward Lisa Dixon

Nepean Ward Sarah Race, Hugh Fraser*

Red Hill Ward David Gill*

Seawinds Ward Antonella Celi*, Kerri McCafferty, Debra Mar

Watson Ward Paul Mercurio

*returning Councillors

/Public Release. View in full here.