Outstanding A&S teachers, advisors honored with 2024 awards

Several awards given by the College of Arts and Sciences honor faculty members annually for excellence in teaching and advising. Among the faculty members and teaching assistants being recognized this year for exceptional teaching and mentorship are: Liliana Colanzi, recipient of the 2024 Robert and Helen Appel Fellowship for Humanists and Social Scientists; Durba Ghosh, recipient of the 2024 Robert A. and Donna B. Paul Award for Excellence in Advising; and Nick Admussen, recipient of the 2024 Morgan Chia-Wen Sze and Bobbi Josephine Hernandez Distinguished Teaching Prize.

Other 2024 College of Arts and Sciences honors:

  • The Stephen and Margery Russell Distinguished Teaching Award goes to faculty members Richard Bensel, the Gary S. Davis Professor of Government; Timothy Riley, professor of mathematics; and Irina Troconis, assistant professor of Romance studies. Teaching assistants receiving the 2024 Stephen and Margery Russell Distinguished Teaching Awards are Judith Tauber, Romance studies; and Chase Vogeli, mathematics.
  • The Deanne Gebell Gitner ’66 and Family Annual Prize for Teaching Assistants goes to Elias Beltran, comparative literature; Susannah Sharpless, literatures in English; and Adam Szetela, literatures in English.
  • The Rosenthal Graduate Student Award goes to Amanda Domingues, science and technology studies; Emily Jackson, government; Zhang Lijun, history; and Cibele Moura, music.
  • The Sophie Washburn French Instructorship goes to Eriko Akamatsu, lecturer in Asian studies; and Banu Ozer-Griffin, senior lecturer in Near Eastern studies.
  • The Zhu Family Graduate Fellowship goes to Bonnie Chung, literatures in English; Matthew Finck, history; Zachary Thomas, Medieval studies; and Praveen Tilakaratne, comparative literature.
  • The Sadov Graduate Student Fellowship goes to Edvard Meza, philosophy.

Read the full story on the College of Arts and Sciences website.

/Public Release. View in full here.