Parliamentary Friends of Local Government

In celebration of Local Government Week, the NSW Parliament has re-established the Parliamentary Friends of Local Government group.

At the first meeting of the group yesterday (Thursday 3 August 2023), Dr Amanda Cohn MLC and Mr Rory Amon MP were appointed as Co-Chairs, with the Hon Peter Primrose MLC appointed as Deputy Chair.

Dr Cohn, Mr Amon and Mr Primrose are among the 50 members of parliament who are also former local government councillors.

LGNSW President Cr Darriea Turley AM said the creation of the multi-partisan group was a step in the right direction.

She said the creation of the group was an opportunity for the NSW Government and local government to achieve better outcomes for the community.

“It’s also crucial that members of our State Parliament liaise with the local government sector to get a sense of the issues and problems that local government is facing,” Cr Turley said.

“It’s a difficult time for the sector with costs skyrocketing as a result of high inflation and the lack of a subsidy from the State Government to cover the increase in costs of the Emergency Services Levy.

“Such a group will enable local government to let Members of Parliament know firsthand just what problems local communities are facing and the broader issues within the local government sector.”

The meeting was held at NSW Parliament House.


/Public Release. View in full here.