QPS and QFES members of Darling Downs recognised at combined honours and awards ceremony

The Honourable Mark Ryan, Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services joined Acting Assistant Commissioner Mick Brady in Toowoomba today at a ceremony celebrating award recipients.

The ceremony saw more than 20 QPS officers accepting awards in recognition of their commitment to diligently serving the Queensland community.

Acting Deputy Commissioner John Bolger of Queensland Fire and Emergency Services was also in attendance to congratulate the many Queensland Fire Emergency Service members also recognised in the ceremony.

Acting Assistant Commissioner Brady said it was fantastic to recognise those within the Darling Downs District for their commitment to their roles in the community.

“We all know that these officers, staff members and QFES members all go above and beyond to serve the people of Queensland in their duties, every day,” Acting Assistant Commissioner Brady said.

“After a ceremony like today’s though, the importance of formally recognising these people is reinforced.

“The diligence and commitment to their respective roles is admirable, and they and their loved ones deserve an opportunity such as this to reflect and be proud of what they have done.

“I give my sincere congratulations to all who were awarded today.”

Police Minister Mark Ryan said the ceremony was another terrific example of the amazing work those from both the Queensland Police Service and Queensland Fire and Emergency Services do every day for the state of Queensland.

“These recipients are a credit to their respective organisations and the Darling Downs community they serve.

“”It was an honour to assist with today’s ceremony and to join with friends, family and colleagues in congratulating these hard-working award recipients,” the Minister said.

Minister Ryan assisted both Acting Assistant Commissioner Brady and Queensland Fire Emergency Service Acting Deputy Commissioner Bolger in presenting awards to deserving recipients.

Sergeant Jeremy Sheldrick, Officer in Charge of Drayton Police Station was awarded the Exemplary Conduct Medal with Community Clasp for showing the greatest level of commitment to his duties and improving the reputation of the QPS through his significant professionalism and service to the communities that he has worked in.

National Police Service Medals and National Medals were awarded to Senior Constable Alex Singleton of Toowoomba Police Station and Detective Senior Constable Sophie Neal of Laidley Child Protection and Investigation Unit for their roles in protecting the community and for having at least 15 years of service.

Former Senior Constable Gerald Williams was also awarded the National Medal for long and diligent service.

Clasps to the National Medal were also awarded, recognising officers for their extended years of service.

Queensland Police Service Medals (QPSM) were awarded to Senior Constable Duncan Miller, Senior Constable Garth Emes and Senior Constable Samantha Tribe.

The QPSM is awarded to those who have displayed diligent and ethical service.

The 15 Year Clasp to the QPSM was likewise awarded to four officers in the Darling Downs District.

A variety of special awards were also given to a total of four officers for individual exemplary efforts and conduct.

/Public Release. View in full here.