Reappointments To Administrative Appeals Tribunal 21 June

Acting Attorney-General

The Hon Michelle Rowland MP

The Australian Government has made 72 reappointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) including two non-judicial Deputy Presidents, 14 Senior Members and 56 Members.

The 72 appointees are current members of the AAT whose existing appointments expire on 30 June 2024. Each appointee will transition to the Administrative Review Tribunal (ART) upon its commencement.

These reappointments ensure the AAT maintains capacity to hear matters and avoid unnecessary delays for applicants until the new ART commences.

The ART is a user-focused, efficient, accessible, independent and fair tribunal that will replace the AAT as soon as practicable before the end of 2024.

Each of these members were assessed as suitable for appointment by an independent selection panel through a transparent and merit-based process, conducted in accordance with the Guidelines for appointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal and closely informed by requirements set out in the Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024.

On behalf of the Government, I congratulate each of these members on their reappointment to the AAT.

The Government will announce the commencement date of the ART as well as further appointments to the AAT and the ART in due course.

/Public Release. View in full here.