Shout out to Tasmania’s thousands of volunteers

Tasmanian Labor
  • 50,000 volunteers state-wide
  • Making an essential contribution to organisations and the community
  • Tasmania Volunteering Awards – 29 finalists
  • Labor would like to extend its warm congratulations to all winners of this year’s Tasmanian Volunteering Awards presented at a virtual ceremony today.

    The overall winner and recipient of the Premier’s Volunteer of the Year Award is Diane Reynoldson, recognised for her work with the Annie Kenney (AK) Young Women’s Shelter Emergency Accommodation service in Southern Tasmania.

    Labor Shadow Housing Minister Alison Standen said AK provides crisis accommodation and wrap around support for young women between the ages of 13 and 20 who are experiencing homelessness or are at risk of becoming homeless.

    “AK is a facility that’s very close to my heart and this is wonderful recognition for the nine years of time and tireless effort that Ms Reynoldson has put in to the important services and programs it provides,” Ms Standen said.

    “Congratulations also go to all of this year’s finalists and winners.

    “The Awards are an important recognition for the essential role volunteers perform. Without them it would not be possible to deliver many of the programs, services and activities Tasmanians need and their effort is estimated to contribute $4-billion a year to the Tasmanian economy.

    “Labor acknowledges the role of peak body Volunteering Tasmania especially in a year so profoundly impacted by COVID-19. Many organisations and services have had to stand down their volunteers, with around 250,000 volunteering hours being lost a week.”

    Volunteers are an essential part of Tasmania’s recovery and rebuilding in the wake of the global pandemic.

    The sustainability of many of our organisations and our communities will depend on their contribution.

    “It is vital we invest in volunteering to ensure all Tasmanians can be part of the state’s recovery.”

    Alison Standen MP

    Shadow Minister for Housing

    /Public Release. View in full here.