Trio of women engineers honoured by UNSW as prestigious Ada Lovelace Medal is awarded

Joanna Groves, Belinda Virant and Kaylee Verrier were recognised at the UNSW Women in Engineering Alumni Awards.

Joanna Groves, CEO of inGuage Energy and the recipient of the 2024 UNSW Women in Engineering Ada Lovelace Medal for Outstanding Engineer, said after receiving the award that the best solutions to big problems come from listening to diverse opinions.

Her prize was one of three presented at the recent UNSW Women in Engineering Alumni Awards ceremony that recognise the amazing achievements of women engineers who are inspiring, mentoring and being role models for the next generation.

The Ada Lovelace medal was created by UNSW Engineering in 2016 and is named for Augusta Ada Byron, later Countess Ada Lovelace, an English mathematician widely regarded as the first computer programmer for her work on Charles Babbage’s revolutionary mechanical general-purpose computer, the Analytical Engine.

Previous winners of the award include Mary O’Kane (NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer), Kathryn Fagg (board member of the Reserve Bank and Boral), and Judy Raper (chemical engineer and former senior official in the U.S. National Science Foundation).

/Public Release. View in full here.