Value of volunteers recognised

John Tucker,Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier

The Tasmanian Liberal Government strongly supports and recognises the value of volunteering in Tasmania through its relationships with Volunteering Tasmania and other Tasmanian volunteer-based organisations.

Volunteering is a vital part of the social fabric of Tasmania. Without the many unpaid hours contributed by volunteers in our community, many of the events, services and supports we access would simply not be available.

The Tasmanian Government is also extremely proud to support the Tasmanian Volunteer Awards, now in their fifth year, and acknowledge the work of Volunteering Tasmania in co-ordinating the Awards, and all the Awards sponsors for supporting such a worthwhile initiative.

This year was, of course, extremely different because of COVID-19 and the ‘virtual’ ceremony was hosted by Volunteering Tasmania CEO Dr Lisa Schimanski.

Congratulations to Dianne Reynoldson who was today named as the Premier’s Volunteer of the Year.

Dianne has been actively volunteering for the Annie Kenney (AK) Young Women’s Emergency Accommodation shelter in Southern Tasmania which provides crisis accommodation 24 hours-a-day for women aged 13-20 years who are experiencing homelessness or at risk of becoming homeless.

Dianne has been volunteering at AK for more than 9 years and through her weekly arts sessions and her professional and nurturing approach she has made a huge impact on the lives of many young women and helped them develop a belief in themselves and their abilities.

Congratulations also to all of the category winners and finalists for your incredible work and sacrifice.

The 2020 Volunteering Tasmania Awards Winners are:

Premier’s Volunteer of the Year Award: Diane Reynoldson

Spirit of Tasmania Arts, Heritage, Tourism and Events Volunteer Award:

Jasmine Power – Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife – Discovery Ranger Program

Anglicare Tasmania Community Care and Health Volunteer Award: Diane Reynoldson – Annie Kenney (AK) Young Women’s Emergency Accommodation

Tasplan Super Education, Science & Technology Volunteer Award: Xiaoxiao Xu – The Story Island Project Tasmania

Lifeline Tasmania Emergency Services Volunteer Award: James Smith – Tasmanian Fire Service

AON Environment, Animal Care and Conservation Volunteer Award: Toby Thorpe – Tasmanian Climate Leaders

VIRA Service Groups, Sport & Recreation Volunteer Award: Michael Griffiths – Judo Tasmania

Aurora Energy Lifetime Achievement Volunteer Award : John Thorne – Rotary Club of North Hobart

Hydro Tasmania Best Practice in Volunteer Management Award: Rhianna Airey – Clarence City Council

CatholicCare Tasmania Volunteer Program of the Year Award: The Fairy Godmothers

Local Government Association of Tasmania Corporate and Civic Volunteer Award: Hazell Bros

The Premier’s Volunteer of the Year Award is chosen from the category winners.

/Public Release. View in full here.