Australian cotton industry’s 2019 top achievers announced

The finalists for the 2019 Australian Cotton Industry Awards have been announced.

The awards recognise the industry’s best and brightest and includes growers, researchers and industry members from across the country.

Cotton Australia CEO Adam Kay says each finalist has been recognised for the significant contribution they have made to a wide range of areas, including best practice farming, research and development, innovation and industry advocacy.

The finalists include:

Bayer Grower of the Year

  • Tim Leifels and Kate Ledingham, Alice Downs Farms P/L, “Alice Downs” Moree, NSW
  • Tom and Charm Arnott, Fairfield Farming Co P/L “Fairfield” and “Tambalaka” Boggabilla NSW
  • Ben and Kim Witham, Mundoora Farming, “Mundoora”, Coleambally, NSW

AgriRisk High Achiever of the Year

  • James Traill and Ashley Tunks, One Tree Agriculture – Jandowae Aggregation, “Arrawatta”, Warra, QLD
  • Craig and Clint Charters, Gabo Pastoral Co, “Gabo” and “Craiglea”, ” Quirindi, NSW
  • Stu and Fran Crawford, Crawford Ag, “Quondong” Narromine, NSW

ADAMA Chris Lehmann Trust Young Cotton Achiever of the Year

  • Nick Beer, “Merrilong”, Spring Ridge, NSW
  • Billy Browning, “Narramine Station”, Narromine, NSW
  • Murray Connor, Australian Food & Fibre – Moree, NSW

Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year

  • Dr Jamie Hopkinson – QLD Dept Agriculture & Fisheries, Toowoomba, QLD
  • Kieran O’Keeffe – CottonInfo, Griffith, NSW
  • Dr Linda Smith – QLD Dept Agriculture & Fisheries, Brisbane, QLD

Mr Kay says the Australian cotton industry has demonstrated how resilient it is during what has been a tough season.

“The cotton industry is not immune to this devastating drought. Despite this season’s challenges, our industry continues to operate at a very high standard,” Mr Kay says.

“The 2019 finalists are excellent role models and advocates for our world-leading agricultural industry. They continue to work for a brighter future for all in our sector through leadership, education, and research and development.”

“The annual awards program is an important opportunity to recognise the hardworking, innovative and dedicated members of our cotton industry.”

The awards judging panel has travelled to the finalists’ originating regions to meet and assess each of the candidates.

Cash prizes are on offer for the winners across all categories, with an additional research bursary for Researcher of the Year.

The recipients for the 2019 Australian Cotton Industry Awards will be announced at a gala event to be held at Griffith on 24th July 2019 in conjunction with the Cotton Collective.

/Public Release. View in full here.