Ballarat Deputy Mayor commended at national climate awards

Cities Power Partnership | Climate Council


BALLARAT DEPUTY MAYOR Belinda Coates has taken out top honours for her work on the climate change frontline at the national Cities Power Partnership Climate Awards last night.

Coates was highly commended for the Climate Ambassador Award in recognition of her leadership driving climate action and emissions reduction in her community and beyond.

The Cities Power Partnership Awards recognise the work of climate heroes in local governments across the country who are transforming Australia’s energy landscape.

Dr Portia Odell, acting director of the Cities Power Partnership, congratulated Deputy Mayor Coates and noted that her entry shone amongst tough competition.

“Deputy Mayor Coates has been an incredibly committed and passionate climate ambassador for many years now. She is consistently bringing climate to the top of the agenda, and is making massive inroads on Ballarat’s journey to net zero,” Dr Odell said.

More than double the number of local governments entered the awards this year compared to last, showing how local governments are rising to the challenges of climate change, even in the difficult circumstances of 2020, and playing a vital role in Australia’s climate solution.

“From innovative renewable energy deals that provide communities with clean, reliable and affordable energy, to supporting communities’ transition to net zero emissions, Cities Power Partnership councils are leading the way with practical local climate solutions,” Dr Odell said

The Cities Power Partnership Awards celebrated outstanding work from local governments in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, sustainable transport, community engagement and innovation as well as individual climate champion awards.


Renewable Energy Achievement Award

Winner: City of Melbourne (VIC) – Melbourne Renewable Energy Project 2

Highly commended: City of Cockburn (WA) – Leading the way in WA

Energy Efficiency Achievement Award

Winner: Shoalhaven City Council (NSW) – A ray of light still shines bright in the Shoalhaven

Sustainable Transport Achievement Award

Winner: Lake Macquarie Council (NSW) – EV Charging Strategy 2020-2032

Community Engagement Achievement Award

Winner: Inner West Council (NSW) – Go Solar

Innovation Award (metropolitan)

Joint Winner: Nillumbik Shire (VIC) – Hybrid solar and battery off-grid Community Stadium & Relief Centre

Joint Winner: Brisbane City Council (QLD) – Brisbane Metro Charging Strategy

Innovation Award (regional)

Winner: Sunshine Coast Council (QLD) – Blue Heart Sunshine Coast

Climate Ambassador Award (elected representative)

Winner: Mark Greenhill, Mayor, Blue Mountains City Council (NSW)

Highly commended: Belinda Coates, Deputy Mayor, City of Ballarat (VIC)

Climate Champion Award (council staff)

Winner: City of Yarra (VIC) – Sustainability Team


/Public Release.