Excellence in patient care honored at Baylor College of Medicine

Baylor College of Medicine has recognized leaders in patient care through its annual Faculty Awards Day, returning to an in-person event this year on May 19.

The awards include the Ben and Margaret Love Foundation Bobby Alford Award for Academic Clinical Professionalism, presented to Dr. John H. Coverdale, professor in the Menninger Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

Other clinical awards include the Early Career Award for Excellence in Patient Care for faculty with two to five years of experience, the Star Award for Excellence in Patient Care for faculty with at least six years of service and the Master Clinician Award for Excellence in Patient Care for faculty with at least 15 years of experience. These were established by Dr. Paul Klotman, Baylor College of Medicine president, CEO and executive dean, to recognize faculty for their exemplary qualities of clinical excellence and expertise, consistent high level of patient care, professionalism, commendable leadership skills and service to the community.

“It is a privilege to honor the award recipients after the past two-plus years, where their efforts as healthcare providers, educators and community leaders have helped to advance human health, educate the next generation of healthcare leaders and serve the community locally, nationally and globally through the COVID-19 pandemic.”

See the full list of Early Career, Star and Master Clinician Award winners.

The 2022 Graduating Class Outstanding Faculty Awards were selected by fourth-year medical students to Dr. Andrew Caruso, Dr. Mollie Gordon, Dr. Tara Harris, Dr. Zaven Sargsyan, Dr. Eric Silberfein and Dr. Ming Zhang.

/Public Release. View in full here.