Mayor Peter Walker Honored Distinguished Local Government Members

Goulburn Mulwaree Council


At last night’s Council Meeting, Mayor Peter Walker recognised the outstanding contributions of esteemed members of Local Government NSW with the presentation of the ‘Emeritus Mayoral Awards and Councillors Service Awards’.

The Local Government NSW Emeritus Mayor Award is a prestigious accolade bestowed upon retired councillors who have demonstrated exemplary service during their tenure as Mayor. Similar to the title of Emeritus Professor in academic institutions, LGNSW bestows the title of Emeritus Mayor to its esteemed senior members. To qualify for this esteemed award, recipients must have served a minimum of five years as Mayor, with no requirement for consecutive service. The title may not be utilised while in office.

Mrs. Margaret O’Neill OAM is a distinguished recipient of the Emeritus Mayor award from Goulburn Mulwaree Council, Mrs O’Neill OAM has dedicated years of service to the community.

Additionally, the Local Government NSW Service Awards will acknowledge the commitment and dedication of elected members who have served for more than 10 years. The 15 Years Certificates of Service will be presented to Goulburn Mulwaree elected members, including Cr Andrew Banfield, Cr Carol James OAM, and Cr Bob Kirk, for their unwavering service and leadership.

Mayor Walker extends his heartfelt congratulations to all the deserving recipients and was honored to have celebrated their remarkable achievements at the Council Meeting.

Cr Banfield.jpg
Cr James.jpg
Cr Kirk.jpg

/Public Release. View in full here.