New Appointments To Supreme And County Courts

VIC Premier

The Victorian Government has appointed two judges to the Supreme Court and two judges to the County Court.

Attorney-General Jaclyn Symes announced the appointments of Associate Justice Patricia Matthews and Peter Gray KC to the Supreme Court, and Diana Manova and Robyn Harper to the County Court effective 14 June 2023.

Associate Justice Matthews was appointed an Associate Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria in December 2020, having served as a judicial registrar of the Court since 2017. She was previously a solicitor working across commercial court and common law matters and has worked as a senior fellow at the University of Melbourne Law School.

Peter Gray KC has practiced at the Victorian Bar since 1996 in public law and regulatory and commercial law, and made silk in 2011. He has acted as a Senior Counsel Assisting for the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety and the Royal Commission into Defence and Veteran Suicide. He was Senior Counsel representing the State in the Royal Commission into the Casino Operator and Licence.

Diana Manova has practised at the Victorian Bar since 2001, and since 2012 predominantly in common law, insurance and personal injury law. She has also regularly appeared as a prosecutor in criminal trials in the higher courts and has also prosecuted for the Independent Broad-based Anti-corruption Commission.

Robyn Harper has served as Crown Prosecutor for the Office of Public Prosecutions since 2018. Ms Harper has practised at the Victorian Bar since 2009 and has appeared for both the prosecution and defence in the Magistrates’, County and Supreme Courts.

Quotes attributable Attorney-General Jaclyn Symes

“I congratulate Associate Justice Matthews, Peter Grey KC, Diana Manova and Robyn Harper on their appointments – with their extensive experience and expertise they will make an excellent contribution to the bench.”

“I look forward to seeing the strong and positive contribution the new appointees will make to the Supreme and County Courts.”

/Public Release. View in full here.