Rural fire fighters recognised for long service and dedication

Thirty-eight members from ACT Rural Fire Service (ACTRFS) and Parks and Conservation Service (PCS) are being recognised for their dedication and commitment to keeping the community safe.

The virtual ceremony will be held today at 4pm and can be viewed here.

Minister for Police and Emergency Services Mick Gentleman said today’s ceremony was about acknowledging the hard work our women and men do day in, day out, all year round.

“The combined total length of service from the 38 members being recognised today is 335 years,” Minister Gentleman said.

“These members have each dedicated their time for more than a decade to protect the ACT community, with four dedicating more than 20 years to bushfire protection.

“The ACTRFS Long Service Medal is an important chance to acknowledge the dedication of staff and volunteers who serve the community and come to our aid in times of crisis.”

ACT Emergency Services Agency (ACTESA) Commissioner Georgeina Whelan said that more than 38 members of both the ACTRFS and PCS should be extremely proud of what they have achieved over the years.

“The Long Service Medal recognises the sacrifice emergency personnel make in the protection of life, property, and the environment,” said Commissioner Whelan.

“I would like to mention Terry Dwyer in particular, for his more than 20 years of service to the ACT community. Terry is a member of Jerrabomberra Rural Fire Brigade and has undertaken roles including brigade Deputy Captain, OH&S Officer and Remote Area Firefighting Team (RAFT) Coordinator.

“Over the years, Terry has attended major incidents including the 2003 Canberra bush fires, deployment to Victoria in 2009 and Tasmania in recent years, as well as being involved in a number of local incidents,” Commissioner Whelan said.

ACT Rural Fire Service A/g Chief Officer Rohan Scott said we will also be recognising members today as part of the Chief Officer awards, for Commendation for Exemplary Service, Unit Citation for Exemplary Service and Commendation for Diligent Service.

“Today we also thank the families, friends and employers of our medal recipients, we understand that behind our personnel is a whole team of people supporting them,” A/g Chief Officer Scott said.

“Congratulations and thank you to the award recipients from across the service who continue to work tirelessly to ensure the Canberra community is cared for and protected.”

/Public Release. View in full here.