Updated Cross Border Travel-Associated Direction 31 July 2021, South Australia

The Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel-Associated Direction No 35) (COVID-19) Direction 2021 has been revoked and replaced by the Emergency Management (Cross Border Travel-Associated Direction No 36) (COVID-19) Direction 2021. This Direction came into effect at 5.47pm on Saturday 31 July 2021.

Changes came into effect from 5.47pm 31 July 2021:

Victoria/South Australia Cross Border Community Members

  • The Victorian Cross Border corridor has been extended to the area 70 km either side of the border between South Australia and Victoria.
  • People who are ordinarily resident in the Victorian Cross Border corridors who have a permitted purpose to travel across the border are not required to submit to the COVID-19 testing requirements.
  • Permitted purposes for travel are:
    • Employment or education
    • Providing care and support to or receiving care from another person or obtaining food, petrol or other fuel or medical care or supplies
    • Obtaining a COVID-19 vaccination
  • Residents of South Australia and Victoria living in the Cross Border Corridor are not required to submit to testing requirements if they have not left the Cross Border corridor in the last 14 days and have not associated with a person in Victoria from the restricted zone (outside of the cross border corridor).
  • A South Australian resident who travels further than the cross border corridor into a restricted zone is deemed either a permitted arrival or essential traveller on return and is subject to Level 4 restrictions and cannot associate with a person who has been outside of the corridor in a restricted zone in the last 14 days.
  • If a Cross Border Community Member who is a resident of Victoria and has been outside the Cross Border Corridor into Victoria within the last 14 days they must:
    • COVID-19 test on day 1, 5, & 13. Unless they can produce evidence of a COVID-19 test or a negative COVID-19 result within the previous 7 days.
    • Must self-quarantine and must not enter a high risk setting for 14 days.
    • Must wear a face mask (covering mouth and nose) at any time that they come into contact with the public for a period of 14 days after their arrival in South Australia.

Other existing requirements remain. The information above only highlights the key changes made to the Directions and does not reflect all requirements. Members of the public are encouraged to see the full Directions for further information.

All existing directions, frequently asked questions and other information can be found here: https://www.covid-19.sa.gov.au/emergency-declarations

If you require further information you can call the SA COVID-19 Information Line on 1800 253 787 between the hours of 9am to 5pm 7 days per week or go to the SA Health website at www.sahealth.sa.gov.au or www.sa.gov.au/covid-19

/Public Release. View in full here.