2024 Northern Territory Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards winners revealed

NT Government
Selena Uibo

Minister for Health

Media Release

2024 NT Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards winners revealed

5 May 2024

Congratulations to the winners of the 2024 Northern Territory Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards (the Awards) which were announced at a gala ball last night.

The Awards recognise and celebrate the invaluable contribution nurses and midwives make to enhance the health and wellbeing of Territorians every single day.

This year 300 guests celebrated the 20th Anniversary of the Awards at the gala ball held at Mindil Beach Casino Resort in Darwin.

The Awards received a record 298 nominations this year – 22 nominations more than received in 2023 – highlighting the continued positive impact nurses and midwives contribute to the community and health system.

The event celebrated nominees, finalists and winners for the 2024 Awards across 12 categories and provided an opportunity to recognise the Territory’s early career, enrolled and registered nurses and midwives working in any healthcare setting.

This year’s sponsors for the Awards contributed a remarkable amount of over $95,000 with additional in-kind sponsorship of almost $20,000 to make it an unforgettable night.

The winners of the 2024 Northern Territory Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards are:

1. Registered Undergraduate Student of the Year

Kayla Plunkett – Ward One, Gove District Hospital, NT Health

2. Excellence in Early Career

Kelsey Marady – Casuarina Community Care Centre, Primary Health Care Urban Services Darwin Region, NT Health

3. Excellence in Education

Kobi Schutz – Lecturer in Nursing, Charles Darwin University

4. Excellence in Research/Quality Improvement

Fransisca (Chacha) Tenorio – Clinical Innovation and Research, NT Health

5. Excellence in Aged Care

Kerrie Stevens – Nganampa Ngura Mutijulu-nya (Mutijulu aged care), Australian Regional Remote Community Services (ARRCS)

6. Charles Darwin University Excellence in Leadership

Shannan Ryan – Intensive Care Unit, Alice Springs Hospital, NT Health

7. Excellence in Aboriginal Health

Peter Mitchell – Indigenous Remote Eye Service (IRIS), Vanguard Health

8. Northern Territory PHN Team Excellence Award

Mala’la Rheumatic Heart Disease Team, Mala’la Health Service

9. Client Appreciation Excellence Award

Tammy Sexton – Midwifery Group Practice, Royal Darwin Hospital, NT Health

10. NT Administrator’s Medal for Lifetime Achievement

Heather Keighley – Nursing Lecturer Flinders University/Senior Policy Advisor CRANAplus

11. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation NT’s Nurse of the Year Award

Yolanda Hernandez Gomez – Community Allied Health and Aged Care Services, Top End, NT Health

12. Midwife of the Year

Abbey Van Someren – Sunrise Health Service Aboriginal Corporation, Katherine

Quotes attributable to Minister for Health Selena Uibo:

“Congratulations to the winners of the 2024 Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards! What an incredible achievement!

“Territorians thank you for your excellence health care service. All nurses and midwives are incredibly important for the Territory, and the awards are a way for Territorians to recognise the amazing work nurses and midwives contribute to the Territory.

“The Awards recognise excellence in client care, education, aged care, research, professional leadership and commitment to the nursing and midwifery profession in the Territory.”

Northern Territory Government

/Public Release. View in full here.