Centenary Of Women’s Suffrage Fountain


The Centenary of Women’s Suffrage Fountain is temporarily closed for repairs due to a leak – which has proven challenging to locate due to fountain’s intricate mosaic design, requiring additional time and specialist contractors. The NCA will keep the community updated on the repairs.

The Australian Government is committed to recognising and celebrating the significant contributions that women have made in shaping a better future for our nation.

As part of this, statues of Dame Dorothy Tangney and Dame Enid Lyons were unveiled last year outside of Old Parliament House.

In partnership with the ACT Government, a statue to honour the late Senator Susan Ryan will be unveiled later this year in the Senate Rose Gardens.

The NCA is also planning to commission a commemorative artwork of Marion Mahony Griffin.


• Dame Dorothy Tangney and Dame Enid Lyons were the first Australian women to enter federal parliament.

• Senator Susan Ryan was first Senator for the Australian Capital Territory, Australia’s first Age Discrimination Commissioner, and the first woman appointed to a Federal Labor frontbench position.

• The Marion Griffin artwork will recognise her contribution to Canberra’s design and Australia’s architecture landscape.

/Public Release. View in full here.