End Of Daylight Savings

Courtesy of Australian Payroll Association

Daylight saving time will end on Sunday 7 April 2024. Clocks go back one hour at 3am to 2am in:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria.

Daylight saving doesn’t apply in all states and territories. There is no change to the time in:

  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • Western Australia.

What employees are paid if they work overnight

Employees should check their award, enterprise agreement or employment contract for terms about daylight saving. If it doesn’t say anything, all employees who work overnight when daylight saving starts are paid ‘by the clock’.

Daylight saving time ends with rolling the clock back from 3am to 2am. Employees who work an overnight shift will work one hour more but won’t be paid for that extra hour.

When daylight saving time started last year and the clock rolled forward an hour, employees working overnight worked one hour less but were paid for the full shift according to the clock.

/Public Release. View in full here.