Federal disaster recovery payment for more Queenslanders

Joint with:

The Hon Bill Shorten MP

Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme

Minister for Government Services

The Hon Murray Watt

Minister for Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Minister for Emergency Management

The Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment (AGDRP) of $1,000 for eligible adults and $400 for eligible children will soon be available for more communities significantly impacted by severe weather events in Queensland.

People who suffered serious damage or injury as a result of heavy rainfall and flooding at the end of January 2024 in the suburb of Bray Park within the City of Moreton Bay Local Government Area (LGA) will be able to apply from 2pm Wednesday 14 February.

The payment will also be activated for more people severely affected by the earlier South East Queensland storms and rainfall from 8am Tuesday 13 February. People in the following suburbs will be able to make a claim for AGDRP:

  • City of Gold Coast: Mermaid Waters and Molendinar
  • City of Logan: Holmview and Yarrabilba.

The AGDRP extension builds on joint Federal-State financial hardship assistance already available for South East Queensland residents who need to replace food, clothing, medicines or reconnect utilities, but who have not suffered major damage to their home. Residents can apply for these payments through www.qld.gov.au/disasterhelp.

To date, more than 17,300 disaster payment claims have been granted and almost $20.8 million paid to eligible people who live in the following suburbs where the payment is already available:

  • City of Gold Coast: Arundel, Ashmore, Biggera Waters, Bonogin, Burleigh Heads, Burleigh Waters, Carrara, Clagiraba, Coombabah, Coomera, Currumbin Waters, Elanora, Gaven, Gilston, Guanaba, Helensvale, Hollywell, Hope Island, Kingsholme, Labrador, Lower Beechmont, Maudsland, Merrimac, Mount Nathan, Mudgeeraba, Nerang, Ormeau, Oxenford, Pacific Pines, Palm Beach, Paradise Point, Parkwood, Pimpama, Reedy Creek, Robina, Runaway Bay, Southport, Springbrook, Tallai, Tallebudgera, Tugun, Upper Coomera, Varsity Lakes, Willow Vale, Wongawallan and Worongary.
  • City of Logan: Cedar Creek, Cedar Grove, Cedar Vale, Eagleby, Flagstone, Glenlogan, Jimboomba, Logan Village, Mundoolun, Riverbend, Tamborine, Veresdale and Woodhill.
  • Scenic Rim Region: Beaudesert, Beechmont, Gleneagle, Tamborine Mountain, Tamborine and Veresdale.

Affected people will soon be able to check their eligibility on the Services Australia website, and the quickest way to claim a payment is online through myGov.

/Public Release. View in full here.