Jobs And Skills Australia Ministerial Advisory Board

The Hon Brendan O'Connor MP
Minister for Skills and Training

I am pleased to announce the establishment of the Jobs and Skills Australia (JSA) Ministerial Advisory Board, a critical part of JSA’s governance structure.

The Board will provide independent, expert and strategic advice to myself, as the Minister for Skills and Training, and to the JSA Commissioner in relation to JSA’s legislated functions and the development of annual work plans.

The Board will ensure tripartite partners and leaders with knowledge and experience of key workforce groups, help plan for the nation’s current and future skills, labour market and workforce needs.

The Board’s strategic advice will also ensure that gender equality and the economic inclusion of First Nations people, Australians from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds and people with disability are integral to JSA’s work.

The appointees are:

  • Chair – Ms Cath Bowtell, a highly experienced board Chair and industry superannuation leader has been appointed for a three-year term and brings to the role an elite level of knowledge and qualifications that will be invaluable to leading this tripartite Board.
  • Deputy Chairs – Ms Megan Lilly (Australian Industry Group, Centre for Education and Training Executive Director) and Mr Liam O’Brien (Australian Council of Trade Unions, Assistant Secretary) have been appointed for two-year terms. These positions have been taken from the Employer and Employee representative categories, to ensure the leadership of the Board maintains balance between key tripartite partners.
  • State and Territory Representatives – Ms Lisa (Lill) Healy (Victorian Department of Jobs, Skills, Industry and Regions) and Ms Jodie Wallace (WA Department of Training and Workforce Development).
  • Employer Organisation Representatives – Mr Luke Achterstraat (Council of Small Business Organisations Australia, CEO), Mr Bran Black (Business Council of Australia, CEO) and Ms Natalie Heazlewood (Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Director of Skills, Employment and Small Business).
  • Employee Organisation Representatives – Ms Annie Butler (Australian Nursing & Midwifery Federation, Federal Secretary), Mr Andrew Dettmer (Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union, National President) and Ms Correna Haythorpe (Australian Education Union, Federal President).
  • Professor Jack Beetson (Literacy for Life Foundation Executive Director)
  • Professor Rae Cooper AO (Australian Centre for Gender Equality and Inclusion @ Work, Sydney University)
  • Ms El Gibbs (Disability Advocacy Network Australia)
  • Ms Nyadol Nyuon OAM (Lawyer, Human Rights Advocate, TAFE Board Director)

I warmly welcome all the appointees; their experience and insights will be invaluable as we work proactively together in the spirit of tripartism.

The appointees all bring extensive experience and I am confident they will execute their duties with impartiality and diligence.

/Public Release. View in full here.