McCormack congratulates Anzac writing competition winners

NSW Nationals

Nationals Member for Riverina, Michael McCormack, says talented students across the Riverina and Central West have once again demonstrated, through their writing, an understanding of the importance of honouring our veterans and current serving Defence Force Personnel.

More than 1,000 Primary and Secondary students from around 40 schools across the Riverina electorate submitted entries for Mr McCormack’s 14th annual ANZAC writing competition. This year’s theme was “Keeping the ANZAC spirit alive in the Riverina and Central West.”

Mr McCormack said he was impressed by the quality of the entries, and acknowledged the students’ efforts and support provided by both teachers and parents.

“The writing competition demonstrates how important the ANZAC spirit is to Riverina and Central West students,” Mr McCormack said.

“I am impressed to see how the students embraced the theme of keeping the ANZAC spirit alive, whether it be writing a heartwarming piece about a family loved one, or a soldier’s account of the war to local heroes.

“The prize winners have written outstanding and uplifting stories, each deserving of a book prize.

“I would like to thank every student who submitted an entry this year. My gratitude extends also to the teachers and parents who supported the students – without their support this competition would not be possible.

“It is incredibly important for us all to commemorate and remember our ANZACs and acknowledge courage, ingenuity, endurance, humour and mateship are just as important today as they were in past years.”

Every student who submitted an entry will receive a participation certificate featuring a watermark of the front cover of this year’s annual ANZAC Day commemorative booklet, produced by Mr McCormack, which will arrive in letterboxes across the electorate in the coming weeks.

Entries were put into Primary and Secondary categories, with the Riverina electorate divided into North, South, East and West divisions.

Each of the 16 winning and highly commended entries have been published in the 52-page booklet, which also contains fascinating articles about the extraordinary deeds performed by ordinary Riverina and Central West residents who went to war. These 16 students will also receive a book prize from the Australian War Memorial and authors Deborah Wheeler and Mat McLachlan.

The booklet also contains all the ANZAC Day service times from locations across the Riverina and Central West.

Primary schools winning book prize recipients

North: Hiya Changela, 10, Year 5, St Laurence’s Parish School, Forbes

South: Seth Willis, 11, Year 6, Yerong Creek Public School

East: Junmahbi Sein, 11, Year 6, Bribbaree Public School

West: Max Reid, 10, Year 6, Temora Public School

Primary schools highly commended book prize recipients

North: Olivia Cowie, 11, Year 5, Parkes Christian School

South: Rylan Morris, 10, Year 5, Forest Hill Public School

East: Lane Johnson, 9, Year 3, St Patrick’s, Gundagai

West: Henry Tonacia, 11, Year 5, St Brendan’s Primary School, Ganmain

Secondary schools winning book prize recipients

North: Joselyne Folau, 15, Year 10, Red Bend Catholic College, Forbes

South: John Curtis, 18, Year 12, St Mary Mackillop College, Wagga Wagga

East: Laura Price, 17, Year 11, St Raphael’s Catholic School, Cowra

West: Harvey Drumore, 12, Year 7, St Anne’s Catholic College, Temora

Secondary schools highly commended book prize recipients

North: Ebony Sullivan, 15, Year 10, Red Bend Catholic College, Forbes

South: Sydney Whyte, 15, Year 10, Wagga Wagga High School

East: Hailie Onley, 16, Year 11, Cootamundra High School

West: William Butcher, 13, Year 8, West Wyalong High School

/Public Release. View in full here.