Ngārimu VC and 28th Battalion Memorial Scholarships Recognise Māori Excellence

Five Māori scholars have been awarded the Ngārimu VC and the 28th (Māori) Battalion tertiary scholarship in recognition of their outstanding achievements, Associate Minister of Education and Ngārimu Board Chair Kelvin Davis announced today.

The undergraduate, Masters, and Doctoral scholarships commemorate Victoria Cross winner Second Lieutenant Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa Ngārimu and members of the 28th (Māori) Battalion, who served on the battlefields of Greece, Crete, North Africa, and Italy between 1941 and 1945.

“Today we honour the past, and celebrate the future. The five scholarship recipients represent the ethos of Ngārimu and the 28th (Māori) Battalion,” Kelvin Davis said.

“They are our leaders of tomorrow, possess excellence in education, as well as determination, leadership, and commitment to their communities.”

This year’s Doctoral recipient is Kahurangi Waititi (Te Whānau ā Apanui, Ngāti Porou and Ngāi Tahu) who is completing her PHD in Māori Media and Communications at Waikato University.

Brandon Manuel (Ngāti Porou, Te Arawa and Ngāti Ranginui) is this year’s Masters recipient. He is currently studying at Canterbury University towards a Masters of Education.

The three undergraduate scholarship recipients are Te Waikapoata Tamati (Te Atiawa, Ngāti Mutunga, Ngāti Ruanui, Ngāi Tahu and Te Whānau ā Apanui) who is studying towards a Bachelor of Dental Surgery at Otago University; Tekiteora Rolleston-Gabel (Tūhoe, Ngāti Kahu, Ngāi Te Rangi and Ngāti Awa), who is studying towards a Bachelor of Science at Waikato University; and Tamahou Thoms ( Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kahungunu-ki-Waiarapa and Ngāti Toarangatira) who is studying towards a Bachelor of Arts at Canterbury University.

“I congratulate them all and look forward to hearing about their future success, as has been the pathway of past recipients,” Kelvin Davis said.

More information on the 2018/19 scholarship recipients is available at:

Notes for editors

  • Since 1948, the Ngārimu scholarships have supported Māori achievers to succeed in education and to contribute as leaders in New Zealand and overseas.
  • In that time over 300 scholarships have been awarded to people such as VC medal recipient Willie Apiata, renowned Māori academic Prof Whatarangi Winiata, entrepreneur and Pīpī Mā founder Kristin Ross, and Māori language expert Pania Papa.
  • For info on previous scholarship recipients and scholarships, go to:

/Public Release. View in full here.