Shellharbour Council Calls For Hall Of Fame Nominations

Shellharbour City Council is inviting nominations for the Hall of Fame, one of the City’s most prestigious accolades that honours members of our community.

Inductees are nominated every four years and come from fields such as science and innovation, education and research, business and public service as well as arts, sport and recreation.

The 35 names in the Hall of Fame include the likes of researcher Harold Goodwin, former alderman and mayor Keith Grey, Antarctic explorer Robert Dovers and Olympic swimmer and record holder Beverley Whitfield.

Shellharbour City Mayor Chris Homer said nominating those who have been successful in their field helped to foster civic pride.

“Hall of Fame recognition is reserved for those who have shaped their field and contributed to the community and beyond,” he said.

“They are people who we look up to, who inspire us and who have pioneered and achieved what few others have done. They have become experts in their field, made it to the top and stayed there.”

The Shellharbour City Council Hall of Fame was established in 1988. All nominees must have been a resident, or a business owner, in the Shellharbour City Local Government Area for at least 10 years.

Nominations close on 28 June. If you would like to know more information about the Hall of Fame or wish to make a nomination visit

/Public Release. View in full here.