Sustainability superheroes recognised at Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities 2021 Awards

  • ​Boddington named Western Australia’s tidiest town for 2021
  • Awards recognise communities doing their bit for the environment
  • 10 towns and their representatives recognised for their green credentials
  • Western Australia’s regional and remote communities have cause for celebration following the announcement of the winners in the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities 2021 Awards.

    This year, 28 communities competed across the seven categories of litter prevention, general appearance, environmental education, sustainability, preserving heritage, community action and youth leadership.

    Boddington took top honour as Western Australia’s overall State winner thanks to its quirky art, and environmental and heritage community projects – the community recycling plant, restoration of St Albans Church in Marradong and partnerships to improve the health of the Hotham River.

    Port and South Hedland won the inaugural Containers for Change award for most effectively using its 10 cent container deposit scheme refunds – with more than five million containers returned by July 1 and $500,000 raised by the community.

    Other category winners included the City of Karratha and Shires of Cunderdin, Cuballing, Boyup Brook, Norseman, Gnowangerup and Donnybrook.

    Kalgoorlie-Boulder’s Kim Eckert took out the Leadership Award for her advocacy for collaboration between the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, business and volunteers for positive environmental outcomes.

    Bob Taylor was recognised as the Keep Australia Beautiful Litter Legend for his litter collection efforts spanning almost 30 years and collecting over 5,000 bags of litter since 1962.

    This is the 52nd year of the Keep Australia Beautiful Council (KABC) flagship program which acknowledges sustainable, litter-free communities. 

    The Awards are funded by the State Government through the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Account administered by the Waste Authority and are also supported by the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation, Main Roads Western Australia, Natsales Advertising, Australian Institute of Management WA, WA Return Recycle Renew Ltd and Vanguard Press.

    For more information on the Awards and to view winners visit

    As stated by Environment Minister Amber-Jade Sanderson:

    “KABC’s Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards are a much loved and respected part of the Western Australian way of life.

    “For more than 50 years, these awards have showcased the important work taking place in our State’s regional and remote communities and encouraged friendly competition between towns.

    “Congratulations to all of the 2021 winners for their outstanding efforts. You have done your communities proud.”

    Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities 2021 Award Winners ​
    Litter Prevention & Waste ManagementCity of Karratha
    Young LegendsCunderdin
    Environmental SustainabilityCuballing
    Environmental EducationBoyup Brook
    Heritage & CultureNorseman
    Community Action & WellbeingGnowangerup
    General AppearanceDonnybrook
    Containers for Change AwardPort and South Hedland
    Leadership AwardKim Eckert, Kalgoorlie-Boulder
    State WinnerBoddington

    /Public Release. View in full here.