Dedication to Service and community acknowledged in Honours and Awards Ceremony

Today, Commissioner Katarina Carroll joined Acting Chief Operating Officer Mr Doug Smith and members of the executive leadership team for the first Police Headquarters (PHQ) awards ceremony of the year and to congratulate employees of the Queensland Police Service (QPS) for their dedicated contributions to their roles within the Service.

Today’s ceremony saw over 20 officers and staff members recognised for their contribution in stopping crime and road trauma, making the community safer and building strong relationships across the community.

Commissioner Carroll said all of today’s recipients should be very proud of their achievements and thanked all of the officers and staff members on behalf of the entire QPS.

“As members of the QPS we are expected to meet the highest ethical standards and today’s award ceremony is an opportunity to acknowledge our members who have displayed those attributes,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“Each recipient should be very proud of their achievements today. You have displayed a commendable work ethic as members of the QPS.

“I would also like to acknowledge the very significant role of the family and friends who support our members.”

As a special Valetine’s Day treat, Commissioner Carroll was proud to acknowledge husband and wife, Sergeant Matthew Kahler and Senior Constable Samantha Kahler with their National Police Service Medals and National Medals.

The National Police Service Medal represents Sergeant Kahler and Senior Constable Kahler’s past and future commitment to give ethical and diligent service.

Chief Superintendent Mark Wheeler received his First Clasp to the National Medal as well as his 25-Year Clasp to the Queensland Police Service Medal (QPSM), and Detective Sergeant Ian Wells was awarded his First Clasp to the National Medal.

Superintendent Stephen Munro and Detective Inspector Jonathan Rouse received their 35-Year Clasps to the QPSM.

Detective Sergeant Theresa Downey and Sergeant Ian Leavers were awarded their 30-Year Clasps to the QPSM.

Senior Sergeant Julian Burke recieved his 25-Year Clasp to the QPSM.

Inspector Peter Stacey, Senior Sergeant Elaine Burns and Detective Senior Constable Melissa Foletti were awarded their 20-Year Clasps to the QPSM.

Sergeant Antonio Martinez, Sergeant Tara Pease, Detective Senior Constable Joseph Toohey and Ms Donna Farkas were awarded their 15-Year Clasps to the QPSM.

Senior Constable Randle Thomas, Ms Kelly Davies, Ms Tanya Donaldson and Mr Neil Pengelly received their QPSM.

Inspector Julie Duncan, Detective Senior Sergeant Mark Andrews and Senior Sergeant Michael Ackery were also recognised with the presentation of Commissioner’s Certificates.

The QPS recognise the ongoing commitment of our members for their exceptional efforts.

Well done to all.

/Public Release. View in full here.