Rugby Australia Awards 2023: All info you need to know

Rugby Au

The 2023 edition of the Rugby Australia Awards are set to be unveiled in the coming days.

The awards will be released across February and March to celebrate an incredible year of Rugby.

It will conclude with the awarding of the John Eales Medal, with Wallabies flanker Michael Hooper out to win a record fifth award.

Check out all the details for the 2023 Rugby Australia Awards below

Harvey Norman Super Rugby Player of the Year

The Super Rugby Player of the Year is awarded to the standout player from the 2022 Super Rugby season.

Last season saw a host of players produce inspirational performances for the clubs, leading to an uptake of Australian victories against their Kiwi counterparts in Super Rugby Pacific

Queensland Reds flyhalf James O’Connor is the defending champion after guiding the Reds to the Super Rugby AU title in 2021.


2021: James O’Connor (Reds)

2019: Samu Kerevi (Reds)

2018: Taniela Tupou (Reds)

2017: Amanaki Mafi (Rebels)

Community Awards

The Community Awards recognises all the incredible contributors to the great game of Rugby.

It aims to celebrate Rugby at all stages, especially at the grassroots level.

These awards include Volunteer of the Year, Joe French Award for Outstanding Contribution to Rugby, Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award and Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby

Buildcorp Super W Player of the Year

The Super W Player of Year looks at the best player during the 2022 Super W competition from the Australian clubs.

2022 saw the Fijiana Drua claim their first ever title, capping off a historic year for the expansion club.

Last season lead to a number of players making their Wallaroos debut after breakout seasons.


2021: Lucy Lockhart (Reds)

2019: Tayla Stanford (Brumbies)

2018: Shanice Parker (NSW)

Fedex Referee of the Year

The Referee of the Year is awarded to the standout Australian Rugby referee across either Sevens or the 15-a-side format.

It is awarded to the referee who demonstrates high standards of officiating and is considered to be a role model for the game in Australia.

There have been several referees that have made their name on the World circuit, refereeing games at the Six Nations, Rugby Championship and Rugby World Cup 2021.


2021: Nic Berry

2019: Nic Berry

2018: Angus Gardner

2017: Angus Gardner

Rookie of the Year

Rookie of the Year is awarded to the player who is deemed to have been the most outstanding first year player in Australia in the last 12 months.

They must have made their debut for either the Wallabies, Wallaroos or Aust 7’s teams on or since the opening game in the current rugby season


2021: Andrew Kellaway

2019: Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea and Jordan Petaia

2018: Taniela Tupou

2017: Ned Hanigan

Cadbury Try of the Year

The Try of the Year is awarded to the best try scored by an Australian across the past 12 months.

This includes Wallabies, Wallaroos, Super Rugby, Super W and Sevens.


2021: Taniela Tupou v South Africa, Brisbane

2019: Nic White v New Zealand, Perth

2018: Taqele Naiyaravoro v Rebels (Round 5 – Super Rugby)

2017: Joe Powell v Hurricanes (Round 2 – Super Rugby)

Shawn Mackay Awards: Men’s and Women’s Sevens Players of the Year

The Shaun Mackay Awards celebrates the best Sevens players from 2022.

It is awarded to the standout and most consistent Australian Men’s and Women’s Sevens player across the last 12 months.

Both sides finished 2022 as the World Series champions, with the Women completing a historic Triple Crown.


2021: Henry Hutchison & Charlotte Caslick

2019: Maurice Longbottom & Charlotte Caslick

2018: Ben O’Donnell & Evania Pelite

2017: James Stannard & Chloe Dalton

Buildcorp Wallaroos Player of the Year

The Wallaroos Player of the Year is awarded to the best and most consistent Women’s player across the last 12 months.

It must be a representative of Australia’s national women’s team (Wallaroos XV)
and recognises the female Australian Rugby player that has shown the most outstanding on-field performance over the last 12 months

The award makes its return after a COVID-affected 2021 for the Wallaroos, with last season headlined by October’s Rugby World Cup


2019: Grace Hamilton

2018: Emily Chancellor

2017: Hillisha Samoa

John Eales Medal

The John Eales Medal represents the standout Men’s Player across the last 12 months.

Wallabies flanker Michael Hooper holds the record with five Medals since it was introduced in 2002.

It is a peer-voted award to Wallaby that is considered the most outstanding performing player across the last 12 months


2021: Michael Hooper

2020: Michael Hooper

2019: Marika Koroibete

2018: David Pocock

2017: Israel Folau

2016: Michael Hooper

2015: Israel Folau

2014: Israel Folau

2013: Michael Hooper

2012: Nathan Sharpe

2011: Kurtley Beale

2010: David Pocock

2009: Matt Giteau

2008: George Smith

2007: Nathan Sharpe

2006: Chris Latham

2005: Jeremy Paul

2004: David Lyons

2003: Phil Waugh

2002: George Smith

/Public Release. View in full here.