Support for Regional Queensland Councils impacted by monsoon flooding

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services The Honourable Mark Ryan

Disaster assistance is now available for five more Local Governments in Regional Queensland affected by ongoing monsoon activity.

Assistance for counter disaster operations and to repair roads and other essential public infrastructure is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

The additional five LGAs are: Barcoo, Burdekin, Mackay, Whitsunday, and Winton.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Murray Watt, said today’s additions bring the number of councils receiving assistance under DRFA to 19, as a result of the widespread flooding last week.

“In one 24-hour period, between 100 and 200 millimetres of rain fell between Mackay and Ayr. Eungella also copped over 300 millimetres of rain over another 24-hour period,” Minister Watt said.

“This amount of rainfall has seen several road closures due to flooding, including parts of the Bruce Highway, and the substantial land-slip leading to the isolation of Eungella.

“At times like this all levels of government need to work quickly to get support to communities to begin cleaning up and restoring critical infrastructure.”

Acting Minister for Queensland Fire and Emergency Services, Mark Furner, said this disaster assistance for impacted local governments means they can focus on the immediate welfare and protection of their local communities.

“This assistance means that local governments can deal with the immediate impact of current flooding, knowing damage to assets such as roads and dams will be repaired once the immediate threat has passed,” Minister Furner said.

“Our priority is the safety of Queenslanders, but the government is also committed to helping local authorities restore damaged public infrastructure.”

The jointly funded disaster assistance has been made previously available to the LGAs of Barcaldine, Boulia, Carpentaria, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Etheridge, Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire, Mapoon Aboriginal Shire, Mornington, Napranum Aboriginal Shire, Northern Peninsula Area, Palm Island Aboriginal Shire and Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at and the Queensland Reconstruction Authority’s website at

/Public Release. View in full here.